Tags

, , , , ,

I’m stealing this title from Alye. It’s a good description of the workout. Just had to chip away at it, little by little. Working out with Massie today. It’s gorgeous outside, so of course we go for a run. We do some shoulder smash with partners. I choose Nick because he has been helping me with this for the past few weeks and it has made a big difference. However, I suck at doing it. I just can’t get enough weight behind me to smash his shoulders down. Jason notices this and comes over and literally does handstands on Nick’s shoulders. Looks awful and painful but he says it feels better once he is done. Next up we do a bunch of planking and crawling under each other. Whew. I’m kind of tired after this warm-up.

The skill is to establish a 1rm power clean. I had done 110lb the other day with Nick and Jake but I think I can do more. However, Jason spends a decent amount of time with me trying to get me to have proper form. It’s a struggle. It’s not like I’m doing cleans that would technically count as a clean. But I’m not popping the bar off my hips like I should be. Eventually, this will limit the amount of weight I can lift and I definitely don’t want that. I want to learn how to do it right so all I have to think about is how much more weight I can do 🙂 And by the way, 10 minutes is not enough to establish a 1rm on any lift. Not if you expect us to warmup properly and not just jump right into the heavy shit. That was frustrating. I got up to 80 and felt better about some of the reps so I figure I’ll stick with that for the workout. I have such a hard time stringing all the different movements together. Same issue I have with my snatch most of the time. I’m stuck in my head too much.

The workout is one I know I’ll suck at. Jason says no scaling allowed. It’s 20 minutes so work at the things you’re bad at. For ring dips, we have to do this one second hold with arms locked out and then one second with biceps touching the rings. I guess this is kind of a scale but it is not even close to being easy. And do 25 attempts at double unders then 50 singles if you can’t do 50. 

WOD

20 min AMRAP

50 double unders

10 power cleans (70% of your 1rm, I do 80lbs)

15 ring dips

20 sit-ups

Total: 2 + 14 ring dips

I am getting double unders but only singles. I’m slightly frustrated by this but happy I can get one at a time consistently. Some days I just hit my shins over and over again. Out of the three times I attempt 25 DUs, I probably get at least 21 of the 25 attempts. That’s progress. I intentionally went pretty high on the clean weight (higher than any other girl in the class) because I knew I would not be getting many round due to shitty ring dips and double unders so I figured I should make it worth my while. I’m able to string together at least 5 every round. I certainly could have gone up in weight but I was really working on form during the skill and I want to have the chance to think through everything I learned and really work at that during the workout, too.

Ring dips are a struggle. I do them really well. I make sure of that. But it’s hard, especially holding myself at the bottom. It really makes my left shoulder hurt. Sit-ups are nothing. Just a blip…wish we could have done 50 sit-ups instead of DUs. I woulda killed the workout then 🙂

Time goes off and I have one ring dip left so I just finish it. Then I figure, why not do 20 sit-ups. It’s not gonna hurt! Overall, I’m happy with the progress I made during the workout. I really need to get better at double unders and stop avoiding workouts that have them. I’m excited for nicer weather so I can practice at home and when I travel and such.